Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Panama City skyline

Introduction to Panama

Panama is a country on the isthmus linking North and South America. The Panama Canal, a famous feat of human engineering, cuts through its centre, linking the Atlantic and Pacific oceans to create an essential shipping route.

In the capital, Panama City, modern skyscrapers and casinos contrast with colonial buildings in the Casco Antiguo district and the rainforest of Natural Metropolitan Park.

Panama at a glance

  • Panama flagCapital: Panama City
  • Population: 4,1 million
  • Largest ethnic groups: mestizo (65%), Native American (12%)
  • Official language: Spanish
  • Climate: Tropical maritime climate
  • Currency: US Dollar (USD), Panama Balboa (PAB)
  • Neighbours: Two (Costa Rica, Colombia)
  • Ocean access: the Pacific Ocean, Atlantic Ocean (Caribbean Sea)
  • Time zone: UTC -5 hours

Need more detail?

Panama Map

Panama is located in Central America and is bordered by the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, with Costa Rica to the west and Colombia to the east.

Panama Provinces

Panama has 10 provinces and three provincial-level indigenous regions (comarcas).

Bocas del ToroBocas del Toro
Chiriquí David
Coclé Penonomé
Darién La Palma
Herrera Chitré
Los Santos Las Tablas
Panamá Panama City
Panamá Oeste La Chorrera
Veraguas Santiago de Veraguas

Comarca Capital
Emberá Unión Chocó
Guna Yala El Porvenir
Ngäbe-Buglé Chichica

Panama Provinces

Posts about Panama